Level 3 Diploma Children & Young People's Workforce - Early Learning & Childcare

Buy course text here
Exciting news about the new Level 3 Diploma - Children & Young People's Workforce. At Early Years CPD we will be launching our programme of study for this award from September 2010 but in the meantime we would like to bring you up to speed, about what's different about this qualification, how it is structured and how it can be achieved.

Well - what's different about the Diploma is that it brings together 3 specialist pathways. The Early Learning and Childcare Pathway, the Children and Young People Social Care Pathway and the Learning Development and Support Services Pathway. The benefits of bringing together the 3 specialist pathways in one qualification means that the learner gets an idea of what it is like to be a professional in the wider children and young people's workforce. They will become familiar with the professional terms used in different areas of the workforce and hopefully work towards shared professional standards and principals.

The diploma is made up of mandatory and optionals QCF units called units of assessments. They are not the same as NVQs although they will cover similar areas. Each unit has a level and a credit value. 

The level 3 Diploma is equivalent to an 'A' Level in the QCF. The level is decided by the content i.e. the depth and coverage of the subject matter; the application of knowledge and understanding through practice and the level of responsibility held by the learner. 

Most of the units of the Diploma are at level 3 with few optional units at level 4. The level 4 units are equivalent the first year of a university course and are aimed at learners who may be interested in pursuing a degree programme in the future.

This provides some idea of the size of the unit and the length of time that  it will take to achieve. The credit is based on the average time that a learner will take to complete a unit. One unit is equivalent to 10 hours of learning. Learning can take the form of supervised activity such as; classroom based activity, tutorials, practical work,  and assessments. It can also comprise; homework, e-learning, independent study or research and on the job or work experienceWhen a unit is achieved by the learner it is  'banked' and recorded on their professional development log. 

Unit structure
Each unit has a number of learning outcomes which have a number of assessment criteria The learning times are linked to how long it takers the learner to achieve the learning outcomes. All learning outcomes have to be assessed. 

Competence, knowledge and understanding
The units are divided into units that are competence based for example; that you can show that you have the knowledge, understanding and practical skills such as setting out activities for children. Other units require that you know and understand an area; for instance the safeguarding unit is about knowing all about how to safeguard children. However, if you are a learner at this level you would not normally be able to show the skills required as it would be undertaken by more senior staff.  The qualification is built by completing individual units until you have the right number for the pathway you have chosen.

So what does the Level 3 Diploma look like?
The Diploma is made up of 4 Shared Core Units (SHC)

  1. Promote communication in children's and young people's settings - 3 credits
  2. Promote equality and inclusion in children's and young people's settings - 3 credits
  3. Engage in personal development in children's and young people's settings - 3 credits
  4. Principles for implementing a duty of care in children's and young peoples settings - 1 credit

There are also 7 Children and Young People's Core Units (CYP)

  1. Understand child and young person development - 4 credits
  2. Promote child and young person development - 3 credits
  3. Understand how to safeguard the well-being of children and young people - 3 credits
  4. Support children's and young being health and safety - 2 credits
  5. Develop positive relationships with children, young people and others involved in their care - 1 credit
  6. Working together for the benefit of children and young people - 2 credits
  7. Understand how to support positive outcomes for children and young people - 3 credits

Learners undertaking the Early Learning and Childcare pathway will need to take the 5 Early Years Mandatory Pathway units (EYMP)

  1. Context and principles of early years provision - 4 credits
  2. Promote learning and development in early years - 5 credits
  3. Promote children's welfare and well-being in the early years - 6 credits
  4. Professional practice in early years settings - 3 credits
  5. Support children's speech language and communication - 4 credits

The above if completed successfully should provide a total of 50 credits. To achieve a full Level 3 Diploma the learner needs to have 65 credits. This means that you will have 15 more credits to 'spend' on the optional bank of units. There is quite a lot of choice available in the optional units bank covering a range of specialist areas. However your 'shop' for units will be affected by your interests and what units are being supplied by your training provider or centre.

Early Years CPD provides online learning and continuing professional development support including qualifications, for practitioners working with children and families. For further information and details about our learning support packages complete our enquiry form. Or give us a call for an informal chat about your requirements on 0208 133 7319 or 07402 692269.


  1. This new qualification has a lot of course units in total for the early learning and child care pathway there is 16 units.


Post a Comment

Popular Posts